top of page
  • Writer's pictureOni Omoile

Ogre's Playlist Vol.2

Rocking out with songs you probably shouldn't play while driving!

Hey everyone! Welcome to a new rendition of Ogre's Playlist, where I share and discuss a handful of some of my favorite tunes. Hope y'all are having a great friday so far, as much as you can considering the lion's share of y'all are probably in quarantine here in the US. Being a wholesale introvert its sad to say my daily routines have almost completely been unaltered by this worldwide pandemic, although there's a certain anxiety to having the option of being able to go somewhere else taken from me even if I wouldn't have chosen it in the first place. It's a pretty first world problem I'll admit, especially in the face of what's going on in the world, but it's still a problem damn it! Anyways enough with all that depressing stuff, let's get into it! This rendition leans pretty hard into my love for rock/metal, but there may be a couple of other surprises in store for those curious!


Avenged Sevenfold-Bat Country

I have to admit it was a tough choice between Bat Country and Beast and the Harlot, but I decided to give the former the nod since I've discussed on twitter before how Beast and the Harlot was the only song I could manage to play during the huge Guitar Hero craze back in the mid 2000s. It also just has a lyric towards the end that encapsulates me too perfectly to not mention. "Too weird to live but much too rare to die".


Jimi Hendrix- Hey Joe

This is the song I default to whenever I've been forced to sing in front of a large group of people dating all the way back to high school all the way to rookie hazing rituals in the pros. I always have to convince people that no I don't relate with the content of song! I just like the sound is all!


Saliva-Ladies and Gentlemen

I will never, ever forget this song considering the circumstances I first heard it play in. This is the song we ran out to onto the field to play #1 nationally ranked Euless Trinity my senior year of high school, in what would end up being the final game I'd ever play in. I went from being nervous as all hell to pure excitement and energy.


Minutes till Midnight-Gospel of the Throttle

I've had the misfortune of getting three speeding tickets in my lifetime, and this song is responsible for at least one of them. How could you not want to though!? This rendition also doubles as the opening theme for the anime Drifters, a gory thriller from the makers of the Hellsing series, check it out!


Megadeth- Symphony of Destruction

This song was my introduction to Megadeth and was on the soundtrack for one of the Smackdown vs. RAW games I used to obsessively play way back in the day. I loved it so much I turned off all the of the other options just so I could hear it on an endless loop and I still never got tired of it.


Five Finger Death Punch- Bad Company

Back on my heretical bullshit again with liking covers of songs more so than the original versions of them with FFDP's rendition of Bad Company's.....Bad Company. Only heard it about eleven million times while lifting in college since it was one of our strength staff's favorites as well.


BFG Division- Mick Gordon (DOOM 2016 OST)

Yes I know what you're thinking, "Oni this is from a video game!". I'm well aware of that and I implore you to listen to it all the same. It is physically impossible to not headbang to this absolute shredder of a track. DOOM's jam packed with tunes like this, so check out the rest of the game's OST if you're interested from what you hear here. Mick Gordon is a god.


Puscifer-The Humbling River

This is definitely a more solemn piece compared to the rest on this list, but the message the song conveys is beautiful, and that makes it just as impactful as the rest.


VAMPS-Rise or Die

Similar to Man on a Mission from Vol.1, Vamps is another J-Rock group that actually performs a large amount of their songs in pretty good english overall! They've also been featured in other mediums, writing the opening them for a game called Code Vein called "Underworld", another one of my favorites!


Tear of the Goddess-Pentakill

Riot Games is an extremely talented company, not even in terms of the quality of their games but also their in-house music divisions as well. A couple years ago they made a lot of noise with release of a K-Pop inspired single "POP/STARS" using characters from their game League of Legends, but that actually wasn't the first time they've done something along those lines! Pentakill is a fictional metal themed group Riot created with the same concept, and this track from its 2nd album is by absolute favorite, done by vocalist Noora Louhimo.



That's all for this rendition of Ogre's Playlist, now if you'll excuse me I'm going to go my government mandated reclusion and furiously air guitar after writing this baby out. Stay safe everyone!


30 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page